Day: May 17, 2022

Matt Kenseth headlines 2023 NASCAR Hall of Fame class

By Bob Pockrass
FOX Sports NASCAR Writer

CHARLOTTE, N.C. — On the 2023 NASCAR Hall of Fame ballot, Matt Kenseth was the only former Cup driver who won a Cup title.

That made him a relatively easy pick, and the 2003 Cup champion, who won the Daytona 500 twice, will enter the Hall of Fame in January having gotten in the first year he was eligible.

The 2023 class, announced Wednesday, will consist of Kenseth, four-time Cup champion crew chief Kirk Shelmerdine and West Coast-based racer Hershel McGriff.

They will join the 58 members already in the Hall of Fame. NASCAR enshrined five people annually for the first 11 years of the Hall and then switched, starting with the 2021 class, to honoring two people from a “modern era” ballot and one from a “pioneer era” ballot.

That can make for a tougher decision than when a class was five

Read More